Statement on the Election of Non-Permanent Members of the UN Security Council for 2013-14

Susan E. Rice
U.S. Permanent Representative to the United Nations 
U.S. Mission to the United Nations 
New York, NY
October 18, 2012


The United States congratulates Argentina, Australia, Luxembourg, the Republic of Korea and Rwanda on their election today as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for 2013 and 2014. We look forward to a strong and productive partnership with these incoming members to address issues fundamental to international peace and security, including nuclear non-proliferation, counter-terrorism, conflict prevention and resolution, promotion of democracy and human rights, and the oversight of complex UN field operations.


PRN: 2012/226