Statement by Ambassador Susan E. Rice, U.S. Permanent Representative to the United Nations, on Security Council Elections

Susan E. Rice
U.S. Permanent Representative to the United Nations 
U.S. Mission to the United Nations 
New York, NY
October 12, 2010


The United States warmly congratulates Colombia, Germany, India, Portugal and South Africa on their election today as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for 2011 and 2012.  Each is a strong democratic nation that has demonstrated its commitment to the principles of the UN Charter.  We look forward to working closely with these countries to address issues fundamental to international peace and security, including nuclear non-proliferation, counter-terrorism, conflict prevention and resolution, promotion of democracy and human rights, and the oversight of complex UN field operations. 


PRN: 2010/204