Select a date to filter the results

2018 November

2018 October

U.S. Presidency of the United Nations Security Council

The UN Security Council was established by the UN Charter, and it’s primary responsibility is to work to maintain international peace and security. There are 193 members of the United Nations, and 15 members of the UN Security Council: the five permanent members (China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States) and 10 non-permanent members elected to two-year terms. For the month of September, the United States is serving as President of the Security Council, a position that rotates every month among the 15 Council members.

2018 September


Ambassador Nikki Haley previewed U.S. priorities for the 73rd UN General Assembly High-Level Week, set to begin on Monday September 24. She highlighted achievements in the United States' September UN Security Council presidency and previewed the President's schedule and events for the other members of the Administration who will visit New York next week.